Crew - Boys Varsity

The Berkshire Boys Crew team is a member of the reputed New England Interscholastic Rowing Association (NEIRA). The team has quickly gained speed on its opponents over the past four seasons. The team races local prep school opponents at its home course in Lakeville, Conn., where its own boathouse provides the only traffic on the lake. Within the league, the six Berkshire varsity fours compete, traveling to race at sites in Connecticut and Massachusetts. The team begins its season over Spring Break with a training trip to Tampa, FL, where boys re-acquaint themselves with the sport and build team cohesion.

Recently, the crew teams at Berkshire began a year-round rowing season. The spring season culminates at the NEIRA Championships on Lake Quinsigamond in late May. Success in this broad, competitive program has earned recent rowers and coxswains recruitment at a variety Division I and Division III programs such as Wisconsin, George Washington, Boston University, Bates College and Northwestern.

Upcoming Events

There are no events to display


There are no events to display



Coach Olson, a native of New Hampshire, joined Berkshire School in 2012 and began coaching rowing for the Bears in 2013. He learned to row at Philips Exeter Academy and continued his rowing career at the University of New Hampshire where he captained the team during his junior and senior years. Mr. Olson previously coached at Great Bay Rowing and also worked at the US Rowing Junior National team summer camp.

In addition to rowing, Coach Olson teaches English, resides in Buck Dorm, and can be found walking his dog on campus.

Assistant Coach: Callie Carew-Miller
Assistant Coach: Dan Cooper


# Name Position Class Hometown
Xander Amero 2017 Boston, MA
Tarek Ammouri 2018 East Granby, CT
Connor Appleyard 2018 Rye, NY
Viggo Blomquist 2017 Chatham, NY
William Blomquist 2019 Chatham, NY
Seve Calderini 2018 Greenwich, CT
Britton Davis 2020 Washington, CT
Karan Dhiman 2019 Kingston
Will Dyer Kloman 2017 Lenox, MA
Sam Gatsos 2017 New York, NY
Ian Heissenbuttel 2017 Lakeville, CT
Will Keenan 2019 Brooklyn, NY
Peter Koenigsbauer 2018 Seattle, WA
Eli Mathieu 2019 Colchester, CT
Jules Oberg 2017 Saltsjo Duvnas
Kent Pendergast 2019 Idaho Falls, ID
Charlie Recchia 2018 Cos Cob, CT
Dong Chan Ryu 2017 Seoul
Darran Shen 2020 Shanghai
Cooper Tuckerman 2018 Bozeman, MT
Kufre Udoh 2017 South Bend, IN
James Walsh 2019 Greenwich, CT
Jack Weeden 2017 Bedford, NY